Two: Description of the Metres


2.20 The fixed syllabic metres: vaṇṇacchandas
(varṇacchandas) type 2
(a.k.a. akkharacchandas [Skt: akṣaracchandas])

These metres can be divided into 3 kinds according to their verse structure:

1) Samavutta, has the same line repeated four times.

2) Addhasamavutta, has two dissimilar lines repeated.

3) Visamavutta, has four dissimilar lines.